top of page
  • Writer's picturewylset

TBC Classic – Current Events

Monday November 1, 2021


Out with the old, on with the...new?






BC has been a treat so far, happily my playstyle is working out quite well with the guild I’ve been with for the past 6 months or so. Most of them have several alts, and we happily run everything in Outlands together.


Altoholism, it's a Playing Style


Of my 9 levelling toons, 5 have hit 70 and are 4 experiencing Kara on a regular basis. My warlock is my fully Kara geared toon, luckily getting the dagger from Prince, there’s an upgrade left in Kara, but in terms of open world capability and 5 mans regular or heroic, he’s set. I have no inklings to push further than Kara, at least until my guild hits SSC after the nerfs. We’re not lazy, we’ve just done it before and are watching other guilds implode with the jump to 25 from 10’s and none of us are looking forward to the silliness.


My hunter, who hit 70 first, sat for a very long time after the lock hit 70. I spent the past weekend working on him, getting his Ravager pet to 70 from 63, as I’d been using my favourite skinned pig from RFK but the poor guy just wasn’t holding aggro anymore. Doing that, I put in a determined effort to collect the long overdue Beast Lord set. Fortunately, I struck it lucky, only needing about 6 runs total to get the four-piece set bonus operational. He’s hit Kara a couple times but hasn’t been lucky with drops in there. Soon enough I suppose.


Druid has been a weird one. Was feral up until 60, but got my ass kicked on the opening quests in Hellfire. Decided screw that, went boomkin and levelled to 70 that way. A few Kara runs later, she’s got some decent resto gear, including Nightbane’s Staff, so her future’s in being a Tree.


Shaman went halfway through the 60-70 range as an interesting pvp-resto spec. First toon in BC that I’ve been able to both heal 5 mans and quest effectively. In the last 3-4 levels he was pure elemental, zapping the crap out of 5 mans and having a blast. Now at 70, with a couple of Kara runs under his belt, he’s got some excellent elemental gear, and a decent resto set as well. He’ll probably settle into resto quite well for me.


Latest to 70 is my little gnome frost mage, who had a blast with a couple paladins tanking and healing 5 mans. Every time we saw each other logged in, we’d gather a couple more dps and hit every instance. It went spectacularly well, that most of his levelling was done in instances. There are PLENTY of quest gold rewards waiting for him out in the wild. Little dude’s going to make me some serious coin. He’s yet to go into Kara, there’s another mage that’s working on her gear and I don’t want to take anything from her. It’s her only toon and since I have many, it’s an easy choice.


The 'Others'


This leaves my other 4 toons, that are 62-60 in levels. Priest I just switched to holy-disc in order to slam the instance trail again, was shadow while levelling but looking forward to healing a guildie’s paladin tank. Should be fun.


Rogue is sitting in Stormwind, running faithfully back and forth from mailbox to AH, and doing some Jewelcrafting and lockpicking on the side. He’s 62 and he’s content. Well, I’m content to get back to him when the dust from other toons settles.


Paladin is a full fledged protection. Ramp runs have been spectacular, BF is an annoying silencing instance that I am getting a good headway in the pulls. Little variances from other people’s tanking these days, I’m more old school in making LOS pulls. Asking at the top of an instance to just chill till all of the mobs get to me, then you can go apeshit, usually works for the DPS. Those warriors who charge out right on the pull… well, they find that if the healer heals them, that’s cool. If they don’t get heals, their dps numbers drop rapidly upon death. Like I said. Old school.


Lastly is my poor Warrior, who waits patiently in Shattrath for me to have him do something other than mail his stuff away and back, cycling the 30 day returns. He’s 62, and I’ve just had other things on my mind. He’s understanding though, because his life’s been as a tank and he’s not looking forward to fighting for aggro on mobs in 5 mans. Fury or arms, perhaps to get him through. We shall see.


Wylset

2 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page