top of page
  • Writer's picturewylset

Old Friends, New Friends

Saturday Dec 18, 2021


Make New Friends, But Keep The Old, One Is Silver And The Other Gold.




A follow up to a post I made The Only Person You Can Control Is Yourself, I was having a late night session this weekend on Nailer. I got into a Setthek Halls run quite late in the evening, in it were a 68 Hunter and a 70 Resto Shaman, both from the same guild. Nailer’s been running smoothly for me, and I’ve been getting better and better at avoiding damage as well as interrupts. Setthek is filled with opportunities for both, with multiple casters and those pesky Prophets who leave a deadly ghost behind. One thing that is just ever so wonderful about melee is that when stuff is dangerous to you, there’s not a lot of time to get out of dodge before you take the damage. Wearing plate helps but being caught flat-footed usually allows you the fantastic opportunity to watch the fight face down on the floor instead of participating in it.


I Got You!

I mention this because during the middle of the instance, as I’m moving out of melee range to survive, the Shaman Healer sends me a whisper and tells me ‘Stay in there Nailer, I’ve got you man, you’re good!’. I thanked him and proceeded to soak up damage that I’d normally be avoiding. The healer was true to his word and kept me alive. At one point I noticed my health was at 308 hp, from a max of 9000. Just as I’m hitting my potion, my health spiked back up to full. We continued our messaging, and both of us laughed at how low I’d gotten yet he blew a cooldown and hit me with an instant cast healing wave which crit – WHAM, and I’m back in action.


After the run I stayed in group with the Hunter and Shaman, and we chatted about the run. Their guild name was one I’d seen before, but I’d tagged it as just another one of those bot-inviting groups that have tons of players and nobody knows each other at all. Turns out they were like that in Classic but had changed in The Burning Crusade. They now are a group who have known each other for years - much like my current guild, and once the old GM left they pared it down and were much more selective in their recruitment.


I said what the hell and asked for a ginvite on my warrior. Nobody was on in my old guild to say anything to, just a quick gquit and ginvite and there I was looking at a roster that, at late night, had about a dozen or so people logged in. Promising.


Change Is A Comin'

A week or so passed, with logging into my other toons still residing in the old guild. Rarely seeing more than myself on, I said to hell with it and pulled the trigger. Got in touch with the officer in the new guild and did a mass migration of all my toons. Left a ‘So long and thanks for all the fish’ post in the old guild’s discord and set my cap for new adventures. The replies to my post were all well intentioned, which was a good thing.


The change was what I was looking for. Several times since I joined there have been calls for people to join a 5-man, both normal and heroic. I’ve still got 2 more toons in the process of levelling. Slapnutz the protection Paladin is 66, and Quinnd my holy/disc is 62 and comfortably healing. I’ve had both of them into guild start-ups and doing what I do best and love the most. When the call comes, my favourite answer in World of Warcraft: “What do you need?”.


Wylset

14 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page